Credit unions are regulated by a combination of federal and state agencies which can vary depending on how a credit union is established.

  • State-chartered credit unions are regulated by a state agency in the state they are located. If the credit union is federally insured (as most credit unions are), the credit union is also regulated by National Credit Union Administration (NCUA).
  • Federally chartered credit unions are regulated by the NCUA.

As a California state-chartered, federally insured credit union, RCU is regulated by the California Department of Financial Institutions and the NCUA.

RCU, along with all other credit unions, is also subject to regulations created by the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau as other financial institutions. In some cases, such as investments and business lending, credit unions must adhere to more strict regulations.