AAA/CAA inspectors have evaluated and rated each of the lodging and restaurant establishments in the AAA TourBook® guide series to ensure quality travel information for our members. 
All properties must meet AAA minimum requirements (for lodgings) concerning cleanliness, comfort and security or AAA minimum requirements (for restaurants) pertaining to cleanliness, food preparation and service. Eligible applicants receive an unannounced evaluation by inspectors that include two distinct components.
AAA Approval:
The inspector first must determine whether the property meets criteria required to be AAA Approved. Every establishment that meets these strict guidelines offers AAA Members the assurance that, regardless of the Diamond rating, it provides acceptable quality, cleanliness, service and value.
Diamond Rating:
Once an establishment becomes AAA Approved, it is assigned a rating of Approved, Three to Five Diamonds, indicating the extensiveness of its facilities, amenities and services from basic to moderate to luxury. These Diamond ratings guide members in selecting establishments appropriately matched to their needs and expectations.
For more than 80 years, our team of professional inspectors have conducted unannounced, independent, in-person property inspections across 26,000 hotel properties in North America.

APPROVED – Noteworthy by meeting the industry-leading standards of AAA inspections.
Great for: Budget-friendly short stays

THREE DIAMOND – Comprehensive amenities style and comfort level.
Great for: Family travel.

FOUR DIAMOND – Upscale style and amenities with the right touch of service.
Great for: A romantic getaway

FIVE DIAMOND – World-class luxury, amenities and indulgence for a once-in-a-lifetime experience.
Great for: The ultimate in relaxation

Restaurants must pass an on-site evaluation with 13 minimum requirements to be approved as a Diamond property. There are 57 elements included in the score that determines a property’s Diamond level.

APPROVED – Noteworthy by meeting the industry-leading standards of AAA inspections.

THREE DIAMOND – Trendy food skillfully presented in a remarkable setting.

FOUR DIAMOND – Distinctive fine dining, well-serviced amid upscale ambience.

FIVE DIAMOND – Leading-edge cuisine, ingredients and preparation with extraordinary service and surroundings.

For additional information, please go to